Family Of Liechtenstein

For 200 years, which is Family Of Liechtenstein the Riegersburg is connected. As long as no family in front of it.

On the occasion of this special anniversary there is a special exhibition in the armory of the Riegersburg (between 1st and 2nd bridge). The connection of the history of the Riegersburg with personalities from the family was artistically interpreted by an artist from our region - Andreas Stern. The exhibition was accompanied scientifically and historically by Dr. Gerhard Fischer, who has already done a lot of research on the family in Western Styria in recent years.

 
In the Exhibition be Insights into the history of the castle as well as their Importance for the family granted. They come in the "Closet“ of Liechtenstein, and you can look forward to interesting stories, anecdotes and fascinating stories.

FROM PURGSTALL TO LIECHENTSTEIN

At the end of the 18th century, the family of the Counts of Purgstall owned the dominions of Hainfeld and Radkersburg, as well as the dominion of Riegersburg. With the death of Wenzel Raphael in 1817, the male line of the Counts of Purgstall became extinct. In 1822, Prince Johann I von und zu Liechtenstein purchased Riegersburg and the associated properties from a community of heirs.

PRINCE JOHANN I. VON UND ZU LIECHTENSTEIN

Diplomat in the service of the emperor

In the Habsburg monarchy, Johann I was an important personality. For example, he had co-founded the Austrian National Bank and as a field marshal of the imperial army he repeatedly played an important role. He was involved in the numerous peace negotiations with Napoleon and signed the peace treaty of Pressburg with a power of attorney from the emperor.

Prince of a sovereign state

Under his regency, the Principality of Liechtenstein was a founding member of the Confederation of the Rhine, which was established in 1806. This gave the Principality sovereignty under state law. This was confirmed by its admission to the German Confederation in 1815.

 

 

Head of the family

As the head of one of the oldest and most important noble families of the time, he also had to make important strategic decisions. In a time of the greatest economic upheaval, he tried to act with foresight and to break new ground with reforms, innovations and investments, both as prince, lord of the manor and head of the family.

 

 

Together with his wife Josepha Sophie née Countess zu Fürstenberg-Weitra, Johann I had 13 children: 6 daughters and 7 sons. In fact, all family members living today are direct descendants of Johann I and Josepha.

 

 

Johann I set himself the goal of providing for his descendants in the long term. The entail had already proved its worth in the family for centuries. Similar to a foundation, the assets remained undivided in the hands of one family member. The background to this was in particular the avoidance of the fragmentation of property. Primogeniture was established as the inheritance order. This means that the first-born succeeds or inherits in the first-born line of descent. There were already two Liechtenstein entailments, three more were granted by the emperor

The acquisitions in Styria and the foundation of entailed estates

In Styria alone, Johann I acquired eleven dominions within a few years: Weyer bei Judenburg, Schwanberg, Limberg, Landsberg, Frauenthal, Fellhofen, Harrachegg, Kirchberg, Hollenegg, Riegersburg and Kornberg. A large part of these Styrian possessions went to his second eldest son Prince Franz de Paula as a fideicommiss, i.e. as an indivisible "hereditary bundle", already briefly discussed. Hollenegg Castle was chosen as headquarters and expanded.

His eldest son and, later, Prince Alois Josef II received the so-called majorat assets. The main property that was located next to the Principality, especially in Moravia, Bohemia and Silesia. To his son, Prince Karl Johann of fideikom happened to miss headquartered Neulengbach, lower Austria. The son of Prince Eduard Franz got in the end of the fideicommissum, with the headquarters castle Rossegg in Carinthia, Austria, after the marriage of his older brother, Prince Frederick, remained childless. Two sons of John I remained unmarried. Thus, he had supplied his descendants, and both the neulengba cher-line, as well as the Ross EGGER-line of the family Lichtenstein still exists today.

THE RIEGERSBURG TODAY

The so-called Hollenegger line of the Liechtenstein family still lives in Styria. Of the castles acquired at that time, only Schloss Hollenegg, Schloss Frauenthal and Riegersburg are still owned by the family. In the turmoil of World War II, Prince Alfred felt compelled to dissolve the legal construct of the entail for fear of expropriation. 

Thus he gave the Riegersburg to his then underage second-born son Prince Friedrich.With Prince Emanuel, the Riegersburg has been in the possession of the family for the 7th generation since Prince Johann I.

call to action image

Special exhibition

On the occasion of this anniversary there is a special exhibition at the castle. The linking of the history of the Riegersburg with personalities from the family was artistically interpreted by an artist from our region - Andreas Stern. The exhibition was accompanied scientifically and historically by Dr. Gerhard Fischer, who has already done a lot of research on the family in Western Styria in recent years.

Visit the special exhibition

Familie Liechtenstein

Seit 200 Jahren ist die Familie Liechtenstein mit der Riegersburg verbunden. So lange, wie keine Familie davor!

Anlässlich dieses besonderen Jubiläums gibt es eine Sonderausstellung im Zeughaus der Riegersburg (zwischen 1. und 2. Brücke). Die Verknüpfung der Geschichte der Riegersburg mit Persönlichkeiten aus der Familie wurde dabei künstlerisch interpretiert von einem Künstler aus unserer Region – Andreas Stern. Wissenschaftlich und historisch begleitet wurde die Ausstellung von Dr. Gerhard Fischer, der schon in den letzten Jahren viel über die Familie in der Weststeiermark geforscht hat.

 
In der Ausstellung werden Einblicke in die Geschichte der Burg sowie deren Bedeutung für die Familie gewährt. Kommen Sie in die „Rumpelkammer“ der Liechtensteins und freuen Sie sich auf interessante Erzählungen, Anekdoten und spannende Geschichten.

VON PURGSTALL ZU LIECHENTSTEIN

Die Familie der Grafen von Purgstall besaß Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts neben der Herrschaften Hainfeld und Radkersburg, auch die Herrschaft Riegersburg. Mit dem Tod von Wenzel Raphael im Jahr 1817, erlosch die Linie der Grafen von Purgstall im Mannesstamm. Von einer Erbengemeinschaft ersteigerte Fürst Johann I. von und zu Liechtenstein im Jahr 1822 die Riegersburg und die dazugehörigen Besitzungen.

FÜRST JOHANN I. VON UND ZU LIECHTENSTEIN

Diplomat im Dienste des Kaisers

In der Habsburgermonarchie war Johann I. eine bedeutende Persönlichkeit. So hatte er die Österreichische Nationalbank mitbegründet und als Feldmarschall des kaiserlichen Heeres spielte er immer wieder eine wichtige Rolle. An den zahlreichen Friedensverhandlungen mit Napoleon war er beteiligt und unterschrieb mit einer Vollmacht des Kaisers den Friedensvertrag von Preßburg.

Landesfürst eines souveränen Staates

Das Fürstentum Liechtenstein war unter seiner Regentschaft Gründungsmitglied des 1806 gegründeten Rheinbundes. Damit erhielt das Fürstentum die staatsrechtliche Souveränität. Diese wurde durch die Aufnahme in den Deutschen Bund 1815 bestätigt.

 

 

Familienoberhaupt

Als Oberhaupt einer der ältesten und bedeutendsten Adelsfamilien in der damaligen Zeit, hatte er auch wichtige strategische Entscheidungen zu treffen. In einer Zeit stärkster wirtschaftlicher Umbrüche versuchte er vorausschauend zu handeln und sowohl als Fürst, Gutsherr und Familienoberhaupt mit Reformen, Innovationen und Investitionen neue Wege zu beschreiten.

 

 

Gemeinsam mit seiner Ehefrau Josepha Sophie geb. Gräfin zu Fürstenberg-Weitra hatte Johann I. 13 Kinder: 6 Töchter und 7 Söhne. Tatsächlich sind alle heute lebenden Familienmitglieder direkte Nachkommen von Johann I. und Josepha.

 

 

Johann I. setzte es sich zum Ziel, seine Nachkommen nachhaltig zu versorgen. Schon seit Jahrhunderten hatte sich damals in der Familie der Fideikommiss bewährt. Das Vermögen blieb dabei, ähnlich einer Stiftung, ungeteilt in der Hand eines Familienmitgliedes. Hintergrund war insbesondere die Vermeidung der Zersplitterung von Besitz. Als Erbordnung wurde dabei die Primogenitur festgelegt. Diese besagt, dass der Erstgeborene in der erstgeborenen Abstammungslinie nachfolgt bzw. erbt. Es gab bereits zwei Liechtensteinsche Fideikommisse, drei weitere wurden ihm vom Kaiser gewährt

Die Erwerbungen in der Steiermark und die Stiftung von Fideikommissen

Allein in der Steiermark erwarb Johann I. innerhalb weniger Jahre elf Herrschaften: Weyer bei Judenburg, Schwanberg, Limberg, Landsberg, Frauenthal, Fellhofen, Harrachegg, Kirchberg, Hollenegg, Riegersburg und Kornberg. Ein Großteil dieser steirischen Besitzungen gingen als bereits kurz besprochener Fideikommiss, also als unteilbares „Erbbündel“, an seinen zweitältesten Sohn Prinz Franz de Paula. Schloss Hollenegg wurde als Hauptsitz erkoren und ausgebaut.

Sein ältester Sohn und späterer Fürst Alois Josef II. erhielt das sogenannte Majoratsvermögen. Das war der große Hauptbesitz, der sich neben dem Fürstentum vor allem in Mähren, Böhmen und Schlesien befand. An seinen Sohn Prinz Karl Johann erging der Fideikommiss mit Hauptsitz Neulengbach in Niederösterreich. Sohn Prinz Eduard Franz bekam letztendlich den Fideikommiss mit dem Hauptsitz Schloss Rossegg in Kärnten, nachdem die Ehe seines älteren Bruders Prinz Friedrich kinderlos blieb. Zwei Söhne von Johann I. blieben unverheiratet. Somit hatte er seine Nachkommen versorgt und sowohl die Neulengbacher-Linie, als auch die Rossegger-Linie der Familie Lichtenstein besteht bis heute.

DIE RIEGERSBURG HEUTE

Die sogenannte Hollenegger-Linie der Familie Liechtenstein lebt nach wie vor in der Steiermark. Von den damals erworbenen Schlössern sind nur mehr Schloss Hollenegg, Schloss Frauenthal und die Riegersburg im Familienbesitz. Prinz Alfred sah sich in den Wirren des 2. Weltkrieges genötigt, das rechtliche Konstrukt des Fideikommisses aus Angst vor Enteignung aufzulösen. 

So schenkte er die Riegersburg seinem damals minderjährigen zweitgeborenen Sohn Prinz Friedrich. Mit Prinz Emanuel ist die Riegersburg seit Fürst Johann I. in der 7. Generation im Besitz der Familie.

call to action image

Sonderausstellung

Anlässlich dieses Jubiläums gibt es eine Sonderausstellung auf der Burg. Die Verknüpfung der Geschichte der Riegersburg mit Persönlichkeiten aus der Familie wurde dabei künstlerisch interpretiert von einem Künstler aus unserer Region - Andreas Stern. Wissenschaftlich und historisch begleitet wurde die Ausstellung von Dr. Gerhard Fischer, der schon in den letzten Jahren viel über die Familie in der Weststeiermark geforscht hat.

Die Sonderausstellung besuchen

WINTERSPERRE: WIR HABEN GESCHLOSSEN!

Derzeit hat die Riegersburg inkl. Burgweg (Drehkreuz) und Klettersteige über die Wintermonate geschlossen.

Wir informieren im Frühjahr auf unserer Homepage sobald Burgweg und Klettersteige wieder geöffnet werden.

Saison-Opening: Samstag, 1. April 2023